Weekly round-up of events

This week’s event announcement is below.


The Third Biennial Public Law Conference

‘The Frontiers of Public Law’

Melbourne Law School

11-13 July 2018

From 11 to 13 July 2018, Melbourne Law School will host the third biennial Public Law Conference, co-organised by the University of Melbourne and the University of Cambridge. The theme of the 2018 conference is ‘The Frontiers of Public Law’. The Public Law series is the pre-eminent regular forum for the discussion of public law matters in the common law world. The first two conferences in the series were held at Cambridge in 2014 and 2016. The 2018 conference is the first to be held outside Cambridge. The conference will feature 80 speakers, including leading judges, practitioners and academics from across the common law world, and bring together over 300 delegates to discuss the most important issues in public law today. The conference is kindly sponsored by Hart Publishing Ltd.

The conference will open on the evening of Wednesday 11 July with a plenary session on the frontiers of executive power with contributions by The Rt Hon Lord Mance (Deputy President of the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom) and Hon Mr Kenneth Hayne AC (formerly a Justice of the High Court of Australia), to be chaired by Professor Carolyn Evans (Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Deputy Provost, University of Melbourne). There will then be two full days on Thursday 12 and Friday 13 July, commencing with a keynote plenary on the globalisation of public law, featuring Professor Benedict Kingsbury (New York University) and Laureate Professor Emeritus Cheryl Saunders AO (Melbourne Law School). The conference dinner will be held on the evening of 12 July in the Great Hall at Ormond College, University of Melbourne.

The conference will feature 80 speakers including Hon Justice Debbie Mortimer (Federal Court of Australia), Hon Justice Chris Maxwell AC (President, Victoria Court of Appeal), Sir Jack Beatson (English Court of Appeal), Hon Justice Grant Huscroft (Ontario Court of Appeal), Hon Justice John Hunter (British Columbia Court of Appeal), Hon Justice Matthew Palmer (New Zealand High Court), Kristen Walker QC (Solicitor-General of Victoria), Prof David Feldman (Cambridge), Prof Anne Davies (Oxford), Prof Carol Harlow (LSE), Prof Mark Aronson (UNSW), Prof Anne Twomey (Sydney), Prof Cora Hoexter (Witwatersrand), Prof Megan Davis (UNSW), Prof Janet McLean (Auckland), Prof Fu Hualing (Hong Kong), Prof Hilary Charlesworth (Melbourne), Prof Nicholas Aroney (Queensland), Prof Laura A Dickinson (George Washington).

Conference registration is open. Information on conference fees, accommodation and how to register can be found on the conference website.